Adobe Systems Incorporated (ADBE) declared that its Board of Directors has elected Shantanu Narayen as Chairman of the Board. Narayen will continue in his role as President and CEO of Adobe and succeeds Co-Chairs and Co-Founders of the company, John Warnock and Chuck Geschke, who will remain on the Board.

The company also declared that board member Jim Daley, a 35-year Price Waterhouse veteran and prior CFO of a publicly traded technology company, has been named Lead Director to ensure continued sound corporate governance. Daley has been a board member since 2001 and was formerly the head of the audit committee.

Narayen’s vision and leadership drove Adobe’s transformation from a packaged software provider to one of the world’s leading and most diversified cloud companies. In 2009, Adobe attained Omniture, launching what is now a multibillion-dollar digital marketing category and business for Adobe. In 2011, Adobe moved its highly profitable creative software business to a software-as-a-service (SaaS) model, becoming the first packaged software company to successfully pivot to the cloud. Adobe is now transitioning its documents business—based on its PDF standard—to a cloud services model with its Document Cloud.

“We are delighted that Shantanu Narayen, who has repeatedly demonstrated that he has the vision and capacity to lead Adobe into the future, will be the next chairman of Adobe,” said John Warnock and Chuck Geschke. “You cannot imagine how proud we are of our employees and the company that we have all built.”

“Adobe’s co-founders John Warnock and Chuck Geschke have been instrumental in shaping Adobe’s innovation agenda and our unique culture for decades,” said Shantanu Narayen, Adobe president and CEO. “I’m grateful to John and Chuck for their ongoing counsel and for entrusting me with the leadership of the amazing company they founded.”

Allscripts Healthcare Solutions Inc (MDRX) continues to facilitate connected care communities through its open platform, and its relationships with innovative software developers. These third-party integrations have facilitated more than two billion data exchange transactions, which marks the leading documented scaled use of modern Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) in health care.

To date, the Allscripts Developer Program (ADP) has certified nearly 170 distinct applications and devices for partners, all presently available through the company’s application store. APIs assist Allscripts clients rapidly implement and use innovative solutions developed by independent software developers. Allscripts clients also use the APIs for their own internal development and integration projects. There are presently more than 5,000 registered developers using Allscripts APIs.

To make it even easier to integrate entrepreneurial third-party applications and devices and deploy solutions to its client base quickly, Allscripts is also announcing an evolution of its developer program. New options include free, no-approval access to Allscripts FHIR®© facilitated APIs to assist meet government requirements and a new ADP Integrator option for software developers that want to use Allscripts proprietary APIs for deeper integration.

“Healthcare organizations need innovative solutions to meet the needs of their populations, and Allscripts open architecture means entrepreneurs and clients can quickly access an open platform to enhance the care they provide,” said Erik Kins, Allscripts Chief Innovation Officer. “Allscripts is committed to advancing connectivity and maximizing the value of healthcare technology to assist our clients deliver high-quality care to their patients.”

Kins will speak on this approach at HIMSS17 with Allscripts client Northwell Health’s Chief Information Architect Vish Anantraman. Kins and Anantraman will demonstrate the value of API calls that facilitate providers to save discrete data and information directly into the EHR, and will discuss the future of healthcare IT and care coordination with widespread adoption of APIs for data exchange and interoperability. The session will take place on Thursday, Feb. 23 at 12:00 PM EST in room 331A.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here